Honorary Adene and Richard Wilson Concert: L’Histoire du Soldat

Feb. 3, 2024, 3:00 p.m.

Skinner Hall of Music

Vassar’s brilliant music faculty perform the music of Rogerson, Richard Wilson, and Stravinsky’s iconic L’Histoire du Soldat. Scored for seven instrumentalists and narrator, L’Histoire is the story of a soldier named Joseph who meets the Devil in disguise. The Devil makes a deal with Joseph with terrible consequences. Written at the end of World War I, Stravinsky uses the influences of tango, waltz, ragtime, klezmer instrumentation and textures, and Bach in his Grand Chorale. Thomas Sauer, piano, Grace Park, violin, Drew Minter, narrator, Marka Young, violin, Daniel Merriman, bass, Ian Tyson, clarinet, Elisabeth Romano, bassoon, James Osborn, trumpet, Paul Bellino, trombone, Frank Cassara, percussion, Eduardo Navega, conductor.

The Program

Lullaby: No Bad Dreams by Chris Rogerson (b. 1988)

Eclogue (1974) by Richard Wilson (b. 1941)

Duo concertant by Igor Stravinsky (1882–1971)

L’Histoire du Soldat by Igor Stravinsky

View complete MODfest listings, details, and updated schedule information.

All events are free and open to the public. No reservations are necessary unless otherwise noted. For directions to the Vassar campus in Poughkeepsie, New York, please visit People with disabilities requiring accommodations should contact the Office of Campus Activities at (845) 437-5370.

Igor Stravinsky
Illustration by Pablo Picasso.