Marilyn Swartz Seven ’69 Annual Playwriting Competition

Sep. 6, 2023 – Jan. 22, 2024

Drama Department

The Marilyn Swartz Seven ’69 Playwriting Award was established by friends and classmates of the late Ms. Seven to support an annual playwriting competition open to all Vassar juniors and seniors of any major. Although Ms. Seven was a psychology major at Vassar, she was immersed in theater. To this day, Ms. Seven’s classmates are dedicated to her legacy.

Past recipients of this award include English, math, science, and drama students who showed extraordinary writing skills. The author of the winning play receives a $1,000 award, a certificate from the Drama Department, and a staged reading/reception on April 21, 2024.

Guidelines and entry forms available here.