Spring Auditions & Openings

Studio openings and contact information for Spring 2024 auditions will be updated in December 2023.

Spring 2023

Instrument Name Email or Instructions
Bass Daniel Merriman dmerriman@gmail.com
Bassoon Elisabeth Romano reedexpertise@gmail.com
Cello Iva Casian Lakos icasianlakos@gmail.com
Clarinet Ian Tyson ityson@vassar.edu
Flute Susan Rotholz srotholz@vassar.edu
French Horn Peter Reit preit@aol.com
Guitar Trevor Babb tbabb@vassar.edu
Jazz Guitar Mike DeMicco midemicco@vassar.edu
Harp Stacey Shames sshames@vassar.edu
Harpsichord Gail Archer gaarcher@vassar.edu
Organ Gail Archer gaarcher@vassar.edu
Oboe Cheryl Bishkoff chbishkoff@vassar.edu
Percussion Frank Cassara frcassara@vassar.edu
Piano Thomas Sauer See audition instructions below
Jazz Piano Peter Tomlinson ptomlinson@vassar.edu
Saxophone Christopher Brellochs See audition instructions below
Trombone & Tuba Paul Bellino pabellino@vassar.edu
Trumpet James Osborn jaosborn@vassar.edu
Voice Mary Nessinger See audition instructions below
Viola Danielle Farina dfarina@vassar.edu
Violin Marka Young maryoung@vassar.edu

Lesson Auditions

Piano Lesson Auditions

Wednesday, January 18, 2023, 5:00–6:30 p.m. in Skinner, room 400
Sign-up for an audition in advance by filling out the Piano Audition Google Form.

Please prepare two short, contrasting pieces. Beginners are welcome; if you are not in a position to prepare a piece, please sign up for an audition to come and state your reasons for wishing to take up the piano. Any questions about the audition process may be directed at any time to Thomas Sauer. We look forward to meeting you soon.

Saxophone Lesson Auditions

There is no availability for Prof. Brellochs studio this spring 2023 semester.  If you would like to be considered for his fall 2023 studio, please record a video of yourself performing a 2–3 minute excerpt of a jazz and/or classical composition, upload it to YouTube or Vimeo, and send a link to cbrellochs@vassar.edu.

Voice Lesson Auditions

f you are interested in voice lessons in the spring, please fill out the Voice Lesson Audition Google Form.

Auditions will be held on Tuesday, January 17th in the Recital Hall of Skinner Hall.  You will have the opportunity to choose a time between 2pm-3pm in the Voice Lesson Audition Google Form.  Students are encouraged to prepare one classical vocal piece in any language, preferably memorized. Please be ready to bring a copy of the music with piano accompaniment, as an accompanist will be provided. Students who do not have a classical piece prepared may also present selections from musical theatre or other music genres.

For any questions about lessons or the audition, please contact Robert Osborne.