The Commission

Steering Team

A portrait of a person with short black hair, facial hair, and black clothing and a magenta tie, smiling at the viewer.

Carlos Alamo-Pastrana

Dean of the College and Professor of Sociology

A person with short brown hair and pink lipstick wearing a gray shirt and black and red scarf against a gray background, smiling at the viewer.

Mita Choudhury

Chair and Professor of History

A person wearing a black shirt and purple eyeglasses with arm extended against a dark background.

Diane Harriford

Director of Africana Studies and Professor of Sociology

A person with short brown hair and a dark blue jacket smiles at the camera.

Jonathon Kahn

Director of Engaged Pluralism and Professor of Religion

A person wearing a light colored shirt and brown jacket and tie smiles at the camera. They are in a room with wood paneling in the background.

Ron Patkus

Head of Special Collections, College Historian, and Adjunct Associate Professor of History

A person with long black braided hair, black-rimmed glasses, and a yellow shirt smiles at the camera.

Selena Hughes

Engaged Pluralism Program Administrator

Broader Commission

  • Monica Vachher, President of the Alumnae/i Association of Vassar College
  • Deb Bucher, Head of Collections & Discovery, Vassar Libraries
  • Melanie Maksin, Head of Academic Engagement, Vassar Libraries
  • Wendy Maragh Taylor, Associate Dean of the College for Student Growth and Engagement
  • Rick Jones, Laboratory Coordinator and Collections Manager, Dept of Earth Science & Geography and Native American Advisory Committee
  • Traci Francis, Vassar Student Association Chair of Equity and Inclusion
  • Ashanti Shih, Assistant Professor of History and Asian American Studies
  • Eréndira Rueda, Associate Professor of Sociology and Director of Latin American and Latinx Studies
  • Molly McGlennan, Professor of English, Native American Studies, American Studies
  • Mallorie Whiteduck, Assistant Professor of Political Science, Native American Studies
  • Kirsten Wesselhoeft, Assistant Professor of Religion and Women, Feminism, and Queer Studies
  • Leslie Offutt, Representative from Vassar Emeriti Faculty
  • Dan Elliott, Officer, Vassar College Safety and Security, Chair - HVSSOU Local #526, representative from union members at Vassar
  • Danielle Aguilar, Security Officer, Chief Shop Steward, for the SPFPA Local #526, representative from union members at Vassar
  • Carmen McGill, Co-Founder and Board Chair of Celebrating the African Spirit, representative from Poughkeepsie community
  • Josh Schreier, Professor of History and Jewish Studies, faculty representative from Jewish Studies
  • Amanda Munroe, Director of Restorative Practices for Engaged Pluralism
  • Mariam Eshetu and Evelyn Silva, Chairs of the Council of ALANA Seniors
  • Jessica Brier, Curator of Photography, Frances Lehman Loeb Art Center

External Advisors

  • Andrew Delbanco, President of the Teagle Foundation
  • Henry Louis Gates Jr., Alphonse Fletcher University Professor and Director of the Hutchins Center for African and African American Research at Harvard University
  • Sarah Barringer Gordon ’82, Arlin M. Adams Professor of Constitutional Law and Professor of History at the University of Pennsylvania
  • Bill Jeffway, Executive Director of the Dutchess County Historical Society
  • Mike Kelly, Head of Archives and Special Collections at Amherst College