A disagreement over autonomy in appointments led seven of the 12 members of the  Poynter Committee—including all five faculty representatives— to resign. Eventually Dean of the Faculty Barbara Wells disbanded the Committee and appointed English department chairman Elizabeth Daniels ’41 to oversee the grant from Nelson and Marion Knauss Poynter ‘46, publishers of The St. Petersburg Times, intended to inform students about the media.