President Taylor conferred the bachelor’s degree on 102 Members of the Class of 1906 at Commencement in the Chapel.  The honors senior essayists were Susan Little Griggs ’06, Sidney Lewis ’06, Sarah Morris ’06, Alice Thurston McGirr ’06, Reba Hendrickson ’06 and Emily Ford ’06.

In his remarks, President Taylor announced that the trustees had approved spending $200,000 for the erection of a fifth residence hall in the residential quadrangle.  This, he said, would permit the college to remove the severe limits in place for entering students and thus would make Vassar less exclusive.

The president also announced that trustee Dr. Henry M. Sanders had pledged $75,000 for a building, as yet undesignated, in memory of his wife’s interest in women’s education.  The gift was to become Sanders Chemistry Building (1909), the first of two buildings Dr. Sanders gave to the college.