The James Monroe Taylor Chair of Philosophy was established in appreciation of Dr. Taylor's 19 years of service as President of Vassar. It was first held by Henry Heath Bawden, professor of philosophy from 1901 until 1907. Donations for the chair were received from trustees, alumnae and other friends of Vassar College.