At the annual trustee meeting, the resignations of trustees F. P. Gates, John D. Rockefeller and Levi P. Morton were tendered and accepted, and George W. Perkins, Arthur L. Lasher and Edgar L. Marston were elected to succeed them.  The gifts announced by the trustees ranged from $411.80 from Andrew Carnegie for books to $500,000 given by Mary Clark Thompson for the new library in memory of her husband, Frederick Ferris Thompson.

Among the new faculty appointments were three—Marian P. Whitney and Lilian Stroebe in German and Jane North Baldwin in physiology—who in years to come made extraordinary contributions to the college.